Karina in Cuzco

Karina in Cuzco

Karina was born and raised in Peru. Passionate about traveling and curious about other cultures since childhood, she and her family traveled extensively through Peru, which enhanced her understanding of the diversity of her own country.

After high school, her sense of adventure took her to Europe. She lived in Italy and Germany where she immersed herself in the cultures, learned about the languages, savored the food and explored the rich traditions.

Her time abroad inspired her to expand her language knowledge and she moved to Ohio where she obtained a Bachelor’s Degree in German Translation from Kent State University. Always curious and hungry to learn more about the localization industry, she completed a Machine Translation course at MIIS, received a dual Certificate in Global Digital Marketing Localization from the Localization Institute and the University of North Carolina Wilmington, and recently earned a Certificate in Software Localization from the University of Washington.

Karina is the new addition to our team. She joined us in 2019. Before that, she lived in the DC area where she worked as an In-house Scientific Translator for the United States Pharmacopeia. Karina has also worked for different LSP’s in the LA area as a Localization Project Manager and previously she worked in Mountain View for Symantec providing customer support in 4 languages.

Karina likes to stay in touch with the localization community and currently serves as the Coaching Program Manager for Women in Localization, where she is contributing with content for the Career Coaching Program.


  • Project management

  • Vendor management

  • Quality Assurance

Nickname: Flaca (friends and family), Kary (my mom and brother in law)
Chinese Zodiac: Monkey
Favorite Hangout: Morning Glory and Ironside in little Italy, and anywhere by the ocean
Can’t live without: Good food
Last show seen: Sam Smith at Capital One Arena in DC
Favorite things to do on the weekends: Go out to brunch, explore San Diego and bake (during wintertime)
If you could have another career, what would it be: Baker, Food critic or archeologist
Favorite food: Peruvian